The Summer Residency at The School of Visual Arts (SVA) is an internationally renowned program that offers artists an opportunity to work intensively in a private studio, receive individual critiques from faculty, and attend weekly lectures given by guest artists, critics, and gallery directors. Each year The American Turkish Society offers a special scholarship to Turkish artists. The selected participant has exclusive use of a small studio located in the School of Visual Arts Chelsea Building. Faculty visits the studios Mondays through Thursdays. Exposure to the New York art world complements this on-site residency program. The program culminates in an open studio exhibition, which enables the participants to present their work to the public. This year, there are two summer residency programs at the  School of Visual Arts: 

Painting and Mixed Media

Fine Arts: Residency in Contemporary Practices

The program is open only to active professional artists residing in Turkey who are not represented by a gallery. Graduate and post-graduate students may apply. Applicants should have fluency in English sufficient enough for engaging in meaningful dialogue with other participants. The scholarship covers: tuition, housing, round-trip airfare, visa expenses, transportation in New York City, a stipend for living expenses, and a stipend for necessary art materials. 

The SVA Summer Residency Program runs annually. Applications are due on April 1st.

About SVA

The School of Visual Arts (SVA) was founded in 1947 in New York City as the Cartoonists and Illustrators School and is one of the leading institutions of its kind in the United States.  It seeks to educate students through undergraduate degree programs, which prepare them for professions in visual arts. 

For more information about the School of Visual Arts, please visit the SVA Website.


Previous Scholars

The American Turkish Society has been sponsoring the SVA summer residency scholarship program since 2010. 

2016: Ahmet Albayrak

2015: Defne Tesal

2014: Gozde Onaran

2013: Vize Aretgicir

2012: Erman Ozbasaran

2011: Neslihan Koyuncu

2010: Nazim Unal Yilmaz